Out of Reach – 13 July 2015

July 13, 2015 at 2:50 pm (Poetry) (, , , , , )

Stars melt into the sea –

I stare, paralyzed.

With fear? Or wonder?

My hand reaches back

And grasps a dying branch.

The long-dead tree,

still putting on a façade of life,

At first feels stable.

Comfortable.

But the branch breaks in my hand.

Paralyzed.

No more going back.

But the sky aflame with molten stars

Keeps me from moving forward –

Down to where fire and water meet.

Oh, how I long to brush the colors

with even just my fingertips.

Instead I sit on the gray, crumbling rocks.

Dead, brown tree at my back.

Infinity just out of reach.

Leave a Reply

