Gunn

March 28, 2013 at 5:05 pm (Poetry) (, , , , , , )

Wow, it has been a really long time since I posted anything here. I’ve been doing a lot of writing and just not sharing it recently. It’s time to change that though! Here is a poem inspired by the Scottish Clan my family is descended from and their motto “Aut Pax Aut Bellum.”

Either Peace or War.

That is my legacy

Centuries back- the code

by which my ancestors lived.

Unintentionally, it has been

My Creed.

My Curse.

A constant state

of living on an edge.

One easily turned to the other.

One desired more

But rarely achieved.

Either Peace or War.

It beats drums in my head-

ancient and irresistible.

Bidding me ever onward

to make my reality

more fitting to my blood

Leave a Reply

