Rivkah

February 12, 2011 at 4:33 pm (Words for the Great and Small) (, , , , , , )

This is my favorite poem that I’ve written for this project.  It’s Rivkah’s slightly romanticized view of herself.

Dear little girl in the high, high hills,

Whither did you come from? Whither will you go?

“I came from afar for the porcupine quills,

Whither I will go I do not know.”

 

Dear little girl in the deep, deep sea,

Whither did you come from? Whither will you go?

“I came from afar for the seaweed tea,

Whither I will go I do not know.”

 

Dear little girl in the tall, tall trees,

Whither did you come from? Whither will you go?

“I came from afar for the larch tree leaves,

Whither I will go I do not know.”

 

Dear little girl in the big, big town,

Whither did you come from? Whither will you go?

“I came from afar for the toothsome hound,

Whither I will go I do not know.”

 

Dear little girl by her lone, lone self,

Whither did you come from? Whither will you go?

“I came from afar from the tall elf Queen,

She named me Rivkah and will not let me go.”

Leave a Reply

