Lessons from the Sea

February 9, 2011 at 3:20 pm (Words for the Great and Small) (, , , , , , )

This is one of my favorites that I’ve written for Words for the Great and Small.  I hope you enjoy it too.

My father sailed out on the good ship Siren a week before I was born.

The sun was low in the eastern sky and my mother was sure she would see him no more.

Over the years I grew and stared at the sea wondering where my father could be.

Through the storms I worried and calm spells I hoped but he never returned to me.

I became a young man and learned for myself all the harms and joys of the earth.

Then one day on the tide a ship sailed in with my father safe in his berth.

My mother did cry with joy at the sight but my father got only silence from me.

He pulled me aside, looked in my eyes, and said “son, you may know the joys of the earth but you have yet to learn from the sea.”

1 Comment

  1. Natasha Meetington said,

    It was rather interesting for me to read that blog. Thanks for it. I like such themes and everything connected to them. I would like to read more soon.

    Natasha Meetington
    mobile phone disable

Leave a Reply

